Small Island Developing States

Article Image

SIDS (Small  Island Developing States) are a distinct group of 39 States and 18 Associate Members of United Nations regional commissions (MUNRC) that face economic, unique social,  and environmental vulnerabilities.

There are three geographical regions in which SIDS are located are:

  1. The Caribbean,
  2. The Pacific, and
  3. The Atlantic,
  4. Indian Ocean and
  5. South China Sea

The 4th International Conference on SIDS named as SIDS4 will bw held from May 27 to 30 in St John’s, Antigua and Barbuda.
Theme - ‘Charting the course toward resilient prosperity’.

This conference aims to evaluate and strengthen the sustainable development of these nations, and their progress towards the ‘Agenda 2030’ and Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).