International Booker Prize 2024

Article Image

The International Booker Prize id given to the writer who wrote or translated a book in the best way. The winner of the 2024 IBP is 'Kairos' book, written by Jenny Erpenbeck (German author) and it is translated into English by Michael Hofmann. The book sets a tangled love affair during the final years of East Germany’s existence.

Facts about the International Booker Prize:

Awarded since 2016.
Once a year (annually).
Recognizes a single work of translated fiction published in the UK or Ireland.
It celebrates both the author and the translator, and awarded £50,000 prize money split equally.
Aims to promote 'International Literature'.